Why I am blogging

It is the start of a new year, and like all new years we resolve to try new things, lose weight, or quit some bad habit. I decided, “Well, blogging is something new, so what the heck.” The reason I want to do this is to create conversations or thoughts that lead us a little deeper than the common “water cooler” talk we have at work and our social gatherings. I have resolved this year to live more intentionally instead of letting life just pass me by. I am not sure where this will lead, if it leads anywhere, but you cannot fail at something you never tried. I was first intrigued by this idea from a friend at church, Mark Mcintyre, who has a blog called Attempts at Honesty which is appropriatly titled. I like the idea of having open, honest conversations about life, and what we believe and why we believe it. I think if we are honest we would all agree that at times our faith systems can be challenged but we are afraid to talk about it. We carry on with life with a smile on our face and telling everyone we are fine when our world is falling down around us. What is it with us that we think we need to portray to everyone that we have everything under control and our lives, marriages, and jobs are all going great? So, over the next couple of weeks, months, or years, I would like to talk about life; how do we get through the good times and the bad times? Why do we believe in whatever we believe to be truth? So I hope that you would live more intentionally with me and interact with me so we can dig a little deeper and tear down this facade we put up.  I will try to put up a post about once a week and may post it a couple of times during the week to get greater exposure since we aren’t always on Facebook, Twitter and checking our blog at the same time. I hope that you would leave comments on whether you agree or disagree to open up a conversation. Also check out my about page to learn more. I know I need to add a picture of me somewher, evidently the only pictures I have of myself is on my mountain bike.

4 Comments

Filed under Blogging

4 responses to “Why I am blogging

  1. Paula Rorer

    What a great way to start the new year. Lately I’ve been feeling like time is flying by. Two of my children are grown and the idea of middle age is hard to accept. So, the idea of living intently appeals to me. I also really want to pay attention to what God wants me to do at this new chapter in my life. Looking forward to hear what others have to say. Here’s to the new year and living intentionly!

    • dirtymtbr

      Thanks for your feed back Paula. I am looking forward to where this leads. I too am curious in how God will use me in the upcoming year. Later this month I am going to Nicaragua on a short term missions trip. I am really looking forward to going down and ministering to such great people. I think they encourage me more than I do them. You have to keep me updated in how the Lord uses you this year.

  2. Craig Suber

    A good start Kevin !

Leave a Reply

