Sanctification-Faith

faith[8]

Here is the first in a series on sanctification. We are going to tackle many different principles that comprise this process of becoming holy. The first thing  that we need  in this process is faith, for without it our journey can, and never will begin. But what is Faith?   Hebrews 11:1 says it this way, “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” NKJV.

I think the thing that many people miss about faith is that it is not a blind faith. Not only that but the writer of Hebrews says it is “the evidence of things not seen.” It is based on evidence and this evidence on the truth of God’s word. This is the starting point. We need to understand that we need to base our faith in the Word of God to start this process of sanctification.

What Faith is Not.

It is not impressions, for our impressions can lead us astray. Our impressions are based on emotion which can sway us depending on our mood for the day.Some days I feel God does not love me, but His word tells me otherwise.Which one should I believe, my impressions or His Word?  The answer is always the Bible, for it is the truth that our faith is built on. Faith is also not based on probabilities. Faith has nothing to do with probabilities, again it is based on fact therefore it is certain, not probable. Faith is also not presumptuous as Evan Hopkins writes “Faith needs facts to rest upon. Presumption can take fancy instead of fact.”

Faith is God Dependence

Therefore since faith is based on facts, and that being the facts of God’s Word we need to be dependent on that truth. This results in us needing to be fully dependent of God and NOT on ourselves. Since we can not trust our emotions, or our impressions we can not be trusted. The only way however to be God dependent is to end self dependence.  Unfortunately, our autonomy is not easily overcome, this is why many times God allows suffering, sorrow, pain, and brokenness to bring us to a place where we begin to understand our need for Him. It is often during these times where we  truly begin to realize this. It was in this weakness that Paul realized this truth when he wrote, “But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.  For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong”. 2Co 12:9-10

It was just after reading this and as I was beginning to process this idea of faith when a trial came immediately upon me, and I was powerless to change it. My spirit was crushed by this trial, and I wanted to rectify the situation. It was in this moment that God reminded me that He is in control and not me. Stop trying and start trusting. Stop fixing and start having faith. Stop depending on yourself and start depending on God. This is where our journey begins, with faith. As J.B Stoney says “The just shall live by faith, not only in your circumstances, but in everything. I believe the Lord allows many things to happen on purpose to make us feel our need for Him”. Let us meditate on these things. Gods word is fact and should be our basis for faith, and in response to that fact we need to be fully dependent on Him.

1 Comment

Filed under Sanctification

One response to “Sanctification-Faith

  1. Reblogged this on Pieces of Truth and commented:

    I am restarting my series on sanctification, and will re-post my first 2 posts then continue on from there

Leave a Reply

