Growing Pains

caution-hard-lesson-ahead-300x276

Do you ever realize that spiritual growth usually comes along with some sort of trial. It seems to be some necessary process for growth that it is paired up with pain, heartache, hardship or loss. I recently had a such an experience and spent the last couple of days trying to sort it out.

I have written recently about the idea that I like to be liked, in this post. I know I am probably not alone in this, because who doesn’t? I however may take it to a different level because I think I care too much what others think of me. That being said, I recently found out that people whom I have known for many years, and I thought were my friends are talking about me behind my back and  the comments were not complimentary. This hurt me on two different levels, one being that people who I thought were my friends are obviously not. Secondly that there are people out there that I like and called friends who don’t like me back. This causes me a lot of confusion and disappointment

After the initial sting of hearing these comments I spent time contemplating what I said, did, or  didn’t do that caused this, and what I can do to rectify it. As I was thinking on  these things, I thought of something my boss said to me the other day. She said “I don’t trust anyone, or any person that is”. I thought, how sad to go through life thinking this way. However, after this current situation I thought maybe she has a point. I have a habit of letting people into my life too easy and I open up and let down any defenses I may have. I am a person who wears his heart on his sleeve and will tell you how I feel, and it will be evident how I feel by my actions and facial expressions. Maybe I should be more guarded like my boss and not trust anyone, this way I won’t get hurt.

The more I thought about this however I realized there is a lesson to be learned in all of this. I continue to realize that I put my trust in people and my satisfaction is in their approval. The funny thing is, there is no where in scripture that says our hopes and approval should be in others, rather it is to be in Jesus and Jesus alone. Time and time again we are told to love others, not have others love us. We are told to count others more significant than ourselves, but no where does it say make others love you. This is pride speaking, I am making myself more important than I am. I am finding my worth in others, or as Paul puts it, I am putting my confidence in the flesh. He goes on to say in Phil 3:8 “indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ.”

I have failed at this miserably, I continue to count things I do as worth, and my confidence is in my flesh and the approval of others is the measuring stick of my worth. So although I feel as though I have lost friendships and the pain is still fresh. I have learned that is because my trust was in the wrong place, myself. I had made myself and others too big .Where my faith and confidence should be in Jesus. I know I will let others down and others will let me down. As my boss said “I don’t trust  anyone, or any person that is”, but she finished this statement by pointing skyward and saying,”There is only one I trust”. This is words to live by. I wish it just didn’t have to feel this way in order to learn this lesson.

6 Comments

Filed under Religion, Sanctification

6 responses to “Growing Pains

  1. Ah the temptation to rectify “wrongs” we’ve never committed. If more people were willing see the world through the lens of God, we’d be ready and willing to rectify the not only the wrongs we’ve truly committed, but also the ones that float in our spiritual atmosphere causing damage at every opportunity. Like you kind of mention, trials are our God’s way of making His will ours- thus spiritual growth takes place. Great post.

    • Thanks for your words of wisdom and for stopping by the blog. And you are so right, I would try and fix all of my perceived problems, both physical and spiritual if I could. I am just beginning to learn to trust God in this area as I am being conformed (slowly) into the image of Christ.

  2. RebeccaAarup

    I can relate to this on so many levels. Thanks for posting.

  3. Carol

    Great post, Kev. I, also, can relate on so many levels. Because you have such a tender heart for people and are so open, there will always be times when you will be hurt by someone who you thought you could trust and you thought was truly a friend. Your boss is right – the only person we can trust completely is God. I’m sorry to hear that your former friends could be so jealous and unkind. I also know that there is a lesson to be learned in all this 🙂

  4. another great piece of truth! who doesn’t want to be liked in this world? It is always hardest to face these truths when it involves hurt on a personal level, but we can always find our comfort in the words of God through his scriptures.

Leave a Reply

